Conor Oberst’s Rape Accuser Admits It Was All Fake

Several months ago a young woman had accused former Bright Eyes front man Conor Oberst of rape, now she is rescinding her claim just over half a year after she said that the rock star sexually assaulted her.

Joanie Faircloth posted in a comment section of an article on the woman’s online magazine XOJane that Oberst had done these terrible things now publicly recanted her statement.

“The statements I made and repeated online and elsewhere over the past six months accusing Conor Oberst of raping me are 100% false. I made up those lies about him to get attention while I was going through a difficult period in my life and trying to cope with my son’s illness. I publicly retract my statements about Conor Oberst, and sincerely apologize to him, his family, and his fans for writing such awful things about him. I realize that my actions were wrong and could undermine the claims of actual sexual assault victims and for that I also apologize. I’m truly sorry for all the pain that I caused.”

Oberst did sue Faircloth back in February for libel claiming that his reputation had been damaged by her accusations. Word also spread that Oberst was dropped from his label due to the claims but this was later refuted as his contract was up.

No matter what the final outcome of this situation it’s still a very sticky situation and one that both musician and fan should stay out of in future coming. Sure Oberst is probably a more emotional person than you or I (just look at what he wrote for Bright Eyes) but that doesn’t mean you can slander a man and say he raped me. It’s unfortunatly people like Faircloth who help give other people really bad names out there.

Here’s Bright Eyes on The Late Show With Craig Ferguson doing “Road To Joy”

About Angerbanjo

As passionate as one can be about certain topics it is hard to make a living with that passion, that being said my passion for nerd culture, modern music and video gaming has yet to translate into anything moderately successful, that and my degree in electronic media, but hey at least I can use that journalism minor. View all posts by Angerbanjo

Leave a Reply

