One Great Casting and One Meh Casting From Last Week

It’s been a hectic week for me or more so few weeks but I am finally here to voice my honest opinion. Last Thursday night the news broke that the Batman/Bruce Wayne from the upcoming Man of Steel sequel was announced. Actor, writer, producer and director extraordinaire Ben Affleck was cast to be the new Dark Knight. My first thought process was this is going to end poorly but then I thought about it. This is either going to look like a genius decision or a train wreck. My guess is still train wreck but thinking on it and voicing my opinion to the internet is my god given right.

Why it could go good or even great is simple, Affleck isn’t a terrible actor and he has done some good roles of late to show this off but it’ll be hard to wash away the filth he’s been in but the fact is all his super huge projects have been pure garbage of late. Affleck is not a bad actor when it comes to not being the lead either at times he can be flat but can he really pull off the Batman? Several huge Hollywood big shots seem to think so and I haven’t heard anything negative from Christopher Nolan who is of course super producing. That’s another positive thought is that Nolan is producing and Nolan doesn’t usually cast wrong. Affleck is a huge fan of Batman and comics in general (Daredevil wasn’t all his fault after all) and he is good buds with Kevin Smith so if he fucks this one up be sure to know he’ll hear it.

Affleck is a bad choice because he is a super mainstream Hollywood star. He’s expensive meaning he’ll take money out of the budget for other things. This could make the movie look cheaper and more camp. Now on top of it let’s be honest here, it is a Batman vs Superman movie so my expectations are low and while I don’t have a legit beef against Affleck I don’t like the casting as a Batman fan…

Now a casting I absolutely love. Bryan Cranston has unofficially been cast as Lex Luthor. I say unofficially since I haven’t seen any sources or anything other than Tumblr and Wikipedia but it makes sense. Cranston’s two most well known roles are as Hal in Malcolm in the Middle and Walter “Heisenberg” White in AMC’s hit show Breaking Bad. And with BB ending in a few weeks and Walter White being a seemingly similar character to Luthor it makes sense. Too bad it’s a Batman vs Superman movie…eh

About Angerbanjo

As passionate as one can be about certain topics it is hard to make a living with that passion, that being said my passion for nerd culture, modern music and video gaming has yet to translate into anything moderately successful, that and my degree in electronic media, but hey at least I can use that journalism minor. View all posts by Angerbanjo

Leave a Reply

