Doctor Who: The Almost People Review

So last week we got the first of a two part semi-season finale. I say semi mainly cause of the ending but I don’t want to give too much away. When it comes to two part serials I tend to not really pay too much attention to the first part and then rewatch it side by side. That means I watch the first part (sometimes I’m fully into it, sometimes not) but when the second part comes back plop on the big telly and I sit, 100% attention spent watching. It’s a test really, more for the serial than for me. You see in order for a multi-part serial to function well you need to be able to watch it side by side, one right after the other to form a nice neat mega serial. This worked well with the opener, although hypothetically the second part could be a separate serial all together. The ultimate question is this, does this one do that well after being mumbled and jumbled in the first part?

Instead of writing down the plot like I mentioned last week I think I’m going to make this easy and partly copy the description from TARDIS Wiki. But if you really want to read their full plot in case you forget you can go here, this is where the full episode article is.

“As the solar storm rages, Jennifer, a Ganger driven mad by the memories of being “decommissioned”, is seeking revenge. She can remember every excruciating second of every “execution” and is determined that the humans will pay. And she isn’t just talking war; she’s talking revolution. As the crumbling factory fills with toxic fumes and drips lethal acid, the “Originals” wait desperately for the shuttle from the Mainland to rescue them. But Jennifer has other ideas. Can the Doctor convince the terrified factory workers to embrace their own humanity and work together with their Gangers to overcome a monster of their own making? “

The plot actually moves seamlessly from the first one into the second one. This one obviously works better with this one as compared to the previous one I feel because there is no time lapse in the episode. In “Day of the Moon” there was a six month story lapse between the end of the first part and the start of the second one. We pick right up in the heat of things so if you happened to have missed the last one you have to go back and watch. Sometimes you get so lost in an episode that you are on the edge of your seat and that is what this second part did. It did feel dragged on at times with the story but it seems hard to make a serial that drags on seamlessly for 88 minutes (42 minutes each whoops I suck at this adding thing)

Since we just talked about the plot moving as compared to analyzing the plot we dissect the writing. I liked the idea of the ganger Doctor and it worked. As I sat here I couldn’t tell which Doctor was the real deal and I think that was the point of the episode. The writing is so poignant and it’s fitting for our society. There was a deep meaning, something most television shows tend to lack, this one is what makes us human. As we got near the end of the episode when the Gangers had all but won the Doctor had played a trick, got the one guys kid to call, and the Ganger went to save the humans. What makes us human? That’s the question that is raised and left this reviewer thinking for a period of time.

Not only was the writing superb but the dialogue. Following up a weak convoluted first part (oh wait til you see my Pirates review). The writing felt great, unlike the third episode of the season which most fans really didn’t like. I know that cause I surveyed most of them (at least amongst my friends). We can move on to the acting portion of this review as it gets long and longer (I wish I was paid to do things like this).

Matt Smith really really carried this episode playing himself twice. I liked that. In case I didn’t mention it, that was my favorite part. Karen Gillian bugs me sometimes. I really want to like her for more than her very attractive figure. Arthur Darville actually isn’t that bad this time around and essentially most of the one off characters are pretty good. I don’t really look at this show for it’s acting, more so for writing and entertaining factor.

As the show goes on the effects get better and better. Granted this is not a huge Hollywood action film directed by Michael Bay but for a television show they have pretty good effects. I have seen movies where the effects are just down right awful and this show puts it to shame. The make up department deserves a nice round of applause for what they did with the Almost People when they were all melty and stuff. Anyways I loved the ending, and it was awesome and I can’t wait for the summer finale next week! Here’s the trailer.

About Angerbanjo

As passionate as one can be about certain topics it is hard to make a living with that passion, that being said my passion for nerd culture, modern music and video gaming has yet to translate into anything moderately successful, that and my degree in electronic media, but hey at least I can use that journalism minor. View all posts by Angerbanjo

Leave a Reply

