Critics Choice Awards Post

So I did the Golden Globes awards post the other day now it’s the critics choice awards today! Woo, soon the Academy Awards will be announced. Same thing as yesterday, my picks versus the one they’ll pick.

All the awards and thoughts are after the jump…SEE

BEST PICTURE:

  • 127 Hours
  • Black Swan
  • The Fighter
  • Inception
  • The King’s Speech
  • The Social Network
  • The Town
  • Toy Story 3
  • True Grit
  • Winter’s Bone

My Thoughts: This is not a bad list. Wait let me double check. True Grit isn’t out yet. Derrr. But this list is better than the Globe’s comedy or musical. I heard from a pal that Black Swan was amazing so we’ll see if it can take it.

My Pick: Inception
Inception was amazing. Although Black Swan was amazing and Toy Story’s nomination seems to be a cock sucking to Disney. The Social Network is overrated but Inception’s genius will win it many awards this season.

Their Pick: the Social Network
People, mainly critics have been sucking this dick for so long. Earning the highest reviews possible on Rotten Tomatoes even with a weak cast. The fact that this film will win the award is depressing.

BEST ACTOR:

  • Jeff Bridges – “True Grit”
  • Robert Duvall – “Get Low”
  • Jesse Eisenberg – “The Social Network”
  • Colin Firth – “The King’s Speech”
  • James Franco – “127 Hours”
  • Ryan Gosling – “Blue Valentine”

My Thoughts: I like this list with the exception of Eisenberg. He wasn’t that great but I think he won’t get this one. I really think that the other actors on this list will out do him especially ones like Franco and Bridges. I’ve heard that Franco was impressive in 127 Hours but Bridges delivers another stand out role in True Grit. It’s a two man contest.

My Pick: Jeff Bridges
I love this man. Yes I am gay for him. I’m sure he kicks all kinds of ass in the Coen Brothers latest film. The fact that this man has had such a rich career and is finally getting recognized for it well it makes me feel good about myself.

Their Pick: Jesse Eisenberg
Something tells me that his performance, even in the blandest, will get the nod. Remember this is the critic’s choice awards, the critics love him then he gets it. Not that he is terrible, he’s just not that good compared to the rest of the list.

BEST ACTRESS:

  • Annette Bening – “The Kids Are All Right”
  • Nicole Kidman – “Rabbit Hole”
  • Jennifer Lawrence – “Winter’s Bone”
  • Natalie Portman – “Black Swan”
  • Noomi Rapace – “The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo”
  • Michelle Williams – “Blue Valentine”

My Thoughts: Good list. Portman, Williams, Kidman and Benning round out this great list. Shame Julianne Moore didn’t get the nom but maybe she’s supporting. Once again though I think Portman steals it from Benning. Just a hunch.

My Pick: Natalie Portman
I’ve heard great stuff from people about her performance in Black Swan. She’s a great actress who generally does good roles and this one is the one that will define her career. Give her all the awards she deserves.

Their Pick: Natalie Portman
They better agree with me or we’ll get the video below happening.

BEST SUPPORTING ACTOR:

  • Christian Bale – “The Fighter”
  • Andrew Garfield – “The Social Network”
  • Jeremy Renner – “The Town”
  • Sam Rockwell – “Conviction”
  • Mark Ruffalo – “The Kids Are All Right”
  • Geoffrey Rush – “The King’s Speech”

My Thoughts: Almost the same list as the Globes and this is kind of sad. I like Rockwell’s nom but I didn’t see the movie. Renner as I said yesterday did a phenomenal job in the Town, almost better or was better than Ben Affleck and John Hamm. Shame though he faces still competition from Batman and The FACEBOOK guy.

My Pick: Christian Bale
Bale steals the show in the Fighter and that’s what I have heard in recent reviews. His way of acting, losing weight for roles and then gaining really is intense. The fact that most people say he’s below average at acting is quite depressing.

Their Pick: Christian Bale
I’m just going to assume they’ll agree with me here from recent reviews. Because if Andrew Garfield gets it for Facebook I think Bale will go ape shit on everyone in the panel.

BEST SUPPORTING ACTRESS:

  • Amy Adams – “The Fighter”
  • Helena Bonham Carter – “The King’s Speech”
  • Mila Kunis – “Black Swan”
  • Melissa Leo – “The Fighter”
  • Hailee Steinfeld – “True Grit”
  • Jacki Weaver – “Animal Kingdom”

My Thoughts: Good list. Bonham-Carter, Adams and Kunis all have shots but more of a long shot for the first and last one in that list. I have heard Adams along with Bale steals the show from Marky Mark. I am starting to see a pattern here and it makes me sad that Julianne Moore is getting snubbed here even after a performance like she had.

My Pick: Amy Adams
She’s attractive and can act. Almost a perfect package if you ask me. I really have heard great stuff about her performance, and it’s enough to sway me to give my vote to her.

Their Pick: Amy Adams
They agree with me once more, Adams is a pretty face and that is the basis for their choosing her. Shallow people just want to see her tatas.

BEST DIRECTOR:

  • Darren Aronofsky – “Black Swan”
  • Danny Boyle – “127 Hours”
  • Joel Coen & Ethan Coen – “True Grit”
  • David Fincher – “The Social Network”
  • Tom Hooper – “The King’s Speech”
  • Christopher Nolan – “Inception”

My Thoughts: Almost the same as yesterdays list, just broader. Nolan and Aronofsky are the front runners behind Fincher’s ghastly film. The Coen Brothers can never be counted out. All in all this is tough.

My Pick: Christopher Nolan
This man keeps getting snubbed so often that it’s got to be his time. Inception didn’t get as much credit as Black Swan or Social Network but it definitely should have. Meticulous and almost flawed to the point of perfection Nolan delivered his dream movie and his real dream of awards will come true.

Their Pick: Darren Aronofsky
If my friend is right in his comments, Aronofsky put the most perfect film out this year. But his erratic ways might shy people away from voting for him and instead nominate Fincher. This is a tough call to make as to who they’ll pick but I’ll say since it’s critics that they’ll go with Black Swan’s director.

BEST ORIGINAL SCREENPLAY:

  • “Another Year” – Mike Leigh
  • “Black Swan” – Mark Heyman and Andres Heinz and John McLaughlin
  • “The Fighter” – Scott Silver and Paul Tamasy & Eric Johnson (Story by Keith Dorrington & Paul Tamasy & Eric Johnson)
  • “Inception” – Christopher Nolan
  • “The Kids Are All Right” – Lisa Cholodenko and Stuart Blumberg
  • “The King’s Speech” – David Seidler

My Thoughts: This is tedious as fuck…so many awards, not enough space. I’m cutting back on what I cover. Good scripts, nothing terrible.

My Pick: Inception
Derrrr….Great film…great writing…if you don’t get it you just aren’t cool enough.

Their Pick: Black Swan
The board isn’t cool enough to get Inception, if they vote for it then either they are faking it or they actually get it. Holy shit.

BEST ADAPTED SCREENPLAY:

  • “127 Hours” – Simon Beaufoy and Danny Boyle
  • “The Social Network” – Aaron Sorkin
  • “The Town” – Peter Craig and Ben Affleck & Aaron Stockard
  • “Toy Story 3” – Michael Arndt (Story by John Lasseter, Andrew Stanton and Lee Unkrich)
  • “True Grit” – Joel Coen & Ethan Coen
  • “Winter’s Bone” – Debra Granik and Anne Rosellini

My Thoughts: Long list. True Grit isn’t out can’t judge. Toy Story 3 is more of a kids movie, not flawless. The Town was great but was it that great? Social Network was good but not that good. The others I didn’t see. Why is Scott Pilgrim not nominated.

My Pick: Scott Pilgrim Vs. The World
Not nominated so I use my vote as a write in.

Their Pick: The Social Network
It’s obvious Zuckerberg pays everyone off because Facebook is that awesome. The script wasn’t awful but it wasn’t the greatest film to ever be made in the history of cinema.

…skipping some important but less important ones (for a full list check out their site)

BEST ANIMATED:

  • Despicable Me
  • How to Train Your Dragon
  • The Illusionist
  • Tangled
  • Toy Story 3

My Thoughts: This was a good year for animated movies, except Tangled. Oh how I hated it. Every second of it made me want to hunt down Mandy Moore and kill her…with hugs and kisses…

My Pick: Toy Story 3
As good as Despicable Me and Dragon were nothing can stop Tim Allen and the super powers of Tom Hanks

Their Pick: Toy Story 3
Unless they are bribed by either Dreamworks or Universal this is the end result.

How Many more are there? Is that all of the super big ones? I don’t have to do best drama, action, or comedy? Really? It’s okay to stop here? Thank god. Like I said for a full list of the nominees go here.


About Angerbanjo

As passionate as one can be about certain topics it is hard to make a living with that passion, that being said my passion for nerd culture, modern music and video gaming has yet to translate into anything moderately successful, that and my degree in electronic media, but hey at least I can use that journalism minor. View all posts by Angerbanjo

Leave a Reply

