ALBUM REVIEW: My Chemical Romance: Danger Days…

The other day I received an early copy of the latest album from Jersey’s own My Chemical Romance. Those of you who know me know that I used to be a huge fan of the band. They were my favorite. I Brought You My Bullets, You Brought Me Your Love used to be my favorite album and I would hold the fact that I loved MCR prior to their mainstream success was annoying as balls. When they disbanded back in 2007 I was heartbroken but I moved on.

So in 2010 they announce that they are making a new album and it’s slated to be put out in November. Their first single, Na Na Na Na, debuted on Radio 104.5, they put out two more singles before the album dropped. That’s the starting point.

The opening track is called “Look Alive Sunshine” and it’s only 30 seconds long. Granted its just a guy talking briefly and it leads into “Na Na Na Na” very smoothly that you won’t notice the change in tracks. Na Na Na Na as i pointed out doesn’t sound like your typical MCR track which scares me greatly and has me worried about this album more and more.

The next track is called “Bulletproof Heart” and it sounds more like an older song than the singles have. They follow it up with “Sing” which was my favorite single that they put out there. The song has a nice vibe to it, it’s bleak and mellow. Very chill.

They follow up with a track called “Planetary (GO)” which starts off with a siren blasting and goes on as an electronic feeling song at first. With Gerard Way’s vocals rising up above the instrumentals. The song continues to power through as if it was a Metro Station song.

The next track is called “The Only Hope For You Is Me” and this was the second single. This is more like an older track of theirs. It’s full of old style MCR, and that’s not as scary as some of the other tracks here so far.

They follow up with a short talky track and then boom “Party Poison” which feels like a super poppy track and has some hints towards Three Cheers For Sweet Revenge. You can tell that this is starting to feel like a concept album, as the next track is called “Save Yourself, I’ll Hold Them Back” it feels like this album is telling a story that doesn’t get across. While this song feels more like a super pop punk rock song, it still has a bit of that old touch from previous albums.

“Scarecrow” slows down the album in a way that several tracks from “The Black  Parade” but whatever. The song slows down even more towards the bridge and it isn’t that great of a song. You get the effort that they are continously trying to find their new sound and it’s just falling short on several tracks.

The next track is called Summertime and it starts off with this radio friendly pop vibe to it. It has that guitar riff that you would find on the more recent Green Day records right before they whine about politics. This song remains slow but gives off more of an emo version of Coldplay. While this new style keeps them evolving and changing it still doesn’t work for them. Way’s voice shines through on a weak instrumental track but other than that it feels like drivel spewed from a money making machine known as Reprise Records (I should have saved that for the ultimate review).

The next track is called Destroya which is a dumb name for a song unless it’s like some death metal song. It starts up with this dramatic sound that you would expect Hans Zimmer to put in a soundtrack then the guitar riffs start to file in like they were late for a dinner party. My main thought on this track is this: is that Gerard Way singing? The answer seems to be a resounding no, as the vocals sound more harsh and untrained as compared to what Way typically sounds like.

The Kids from Yesterday starts up with a poppy electronic vibe once again proving that the band isn’t exactly sure where they are going with this album. Way’s vocals are a nice return after whoever did the vocals on the last track. The song continues in the slow movement of the previous few tracks, while there is an annoying beat thingy that continues throughout the whole song, annoying and irritating.  The song finally ends after a long drawn out five minutes with the chorus being repeated on and on.

Goodnite Dr. Death is just another track with some random guy talking and stuff. God I really don’t like this whole vibe that they have going on this album with the whole running from death, it’s really annoying but at the same time it has that comic book feel to it or Fallout vibe not quite sure. The track ends with some Pomp and Circumstance.

Vampire Money I think is the last track on the album, I think, and it starts with Way asking all the members how they are. With an aggressive punk sound to it. It feels like a super punk friendly song, similar to Teenagers off the Black Parade. I think this might be one of the better songs on the album. The song clocks in at 3 and a half minutes, typical pop music.

The album is weak, I think, while it glosses over the pop genre with several elements found in other genres Danger Days lacks the punk vibe that these Jersey kids had on Three Cheers and the gothy lyrics they had on I Brought You My Bullets. Way has proven that his lyrics can adapt to any style. Overall I give this album a 6 out of 10.

About Angerbanjo

As passionate as one can be about certain topics it is hard to make a living with that passion, that being said my passion for nerd culture, modern music and video gaming has yet to translate into anything moderately successful, that and my degree in electronic media, but hey at least I can use that journalism minor. View all posts by Angerbanjo

2 responses to “ALBUM REVIEW: My Chemical Romance: Danger Days…

Leave a Reply

